PCC Snippets – October 2020 Annual Church Meeting

Previous meetingNext meetingIndex

Snippets from the Annual Church Meeting – 11th October 2020

Vicar Maureen set to retire next year with her last service at the end of May

The Rev Preb Maureen Hobbs is to retire next year. Her last service as Vicar of Pattingham with Patshull will be at the end of May.

Maureen made her announcements in her annual report to the delayed Annual Church Meeting which was held after the morning service on Sunday 11th October and was attended by 24 parishioners. The meeting is normally held in April but was delayed this year due to the pandemic.

Maureen said that she is comforted and cheered by the amazing work done in the last five months or so by many people and is confident that the life and work of the parish can continue without her.

Becaue of the delay in holding the meeting some of the reports of events in 2019 seemed almost like ancient history. The reports can be seen here.

Next year’s meeting will be held in April 2021 and will include reports about this year.

Apart from considering the reports the meeting also elects the churchwardens, representatives to the deanery synod and members of the PCC.

Philip Morgan stood down as churchwarden. Gena Richards agreed to continue as churchwarden and will be joined by Clive Pendrell, who will combine the posts of churchwarden and treasurer.

Churchwardens are normally formally admitted to their posts by the archdeacon acting on behalf of the bishop but this year they will be admitted by the Vicar during a Sunday service when the necessary formalities have been completed.

Gordon Bramall and Geoffrey Dann continue as representatives to the deanery synod. The third position was not filled. Tony Ainsworth was re-elected to the PCC.

Rob Colin-Stokes, Gladys Jones, Colin Ringrose and Graham Tritton retired from the PCC and Tony Taylor retired as a deanery synod representative.